Paleo Sticky Date Pudding Cupcakes + my review of Optimum Health The Paleo Way

Yum

31 comments

buttermilk crepes recipe

Recipe: Sticky date pudding muffins

Hello my lovely readers. Today I have two awesome posts in one! First of all, you get a recipe of these delectable and paleo friendly sticky date pudding cupcakes/muffins with fresh raspberries. These were adapted (because I can’t just follow a recipe like all normal people) from a recipe for a mini sticky date pudding by Claire Yates of Indi Nature. I found the recipe in her new book Optimal Health The Paleo Way, which should be hitting the shelves of most major stores’ early November. This brings me to the second part of this post – my review of this new book. Now, I will preface this by saying that I don’t do many book reviews (mainly because nobody sends me any), so I was quite excited to receive Claire’s book in the mail and to test out some of the recipes before it goes on sale.

Before we jump into the pudding so to speak, here is what you need to know about the Optimal Health The Paleo Way book.

Optimum_health_the_paleo_way_cover

Being a paleo cookbook author and food blogger, I read a lot of literature on the subject matter. So every time I pick up a new book on the topic I wonder what new things I will learn and will I learn anything at all. Oh boy, did I learn stuff!

Claire Yates is a nutritional medicine practitioner so she really understands all the nerdy stuff about what we eat and how it affects our bodies. All of that is really well covered and you will learn a lot about fat, protein, carbs and nutritional benefits of different foods. However, I wouldn’t just call this a diet book. It’s more like a manual to healthier living. I love that things like hormones, stress, gut health, inflammation and sleep are covered, in fact they all have their own chapters in the book. There is a great chapter on food as medicine teaching you about the healing and restorative ingredients and how they work and a full chapter on how mind, body and soul are connected. Claire has a beautiful, holistic life philosophy and it really comes through in this book.

claire_yates_book_review

Now that was just one half of the book. The other half is dedicated to an easy to follow 28 day reset program including lots of practical information on how to get started, the daily rituals, supplements and how to continue your lifestyle after the program is finished. Like any reset program, it might seem restrictive but once you read through all the meals and recipes you will actually want to try it. Everything looks very delicious and satiating, and I honestly don’t think you’ll be missing other foods.

The last part of the book contains over 100 delicious paleo recipes and to be honest I think Claire doesn’t give herself enough credit when it comes to cooking. Everything looks healthy but also very tasty and easy to make. I am definitely trying chocolate cherry bites, cold prawn and kelp noodle salad, blueberry ice-cream, nori egg and chicken rolls and butter chicken. There are also salad dressings, sauces, bone broth, salad, breakfasts, main meals and much more. And of course, I absolute loved the sticky date pudding muffins.

If you’re going to buy a book on paleo, or nutrition in general, make sure it’s this one! Whether you’re new to the concepts or you consider yourself an expert, it has something for everyone. The best part is you can tell it’s written by someone who obviously loves food so it’s become one of my favourite paleo cooking books.  You can pre-order Optimum Health The Paleo Way here (actually if you order from them any time before end of November, you can go in the draw to win a 1 hour free consultation with Claire over Skype), otherwise look out for it in Australian stores early November. I believe you can find it in some stores already. Also, check out Claire’s website and Facebook for more updates on where to get it.

And now back to the sticky date muffins! The original recipe makes these in ramekins in a microwave so it’s a quick dessert you can make in 10 minutes or so. I didn’t have any ramekins in the current kitchen so I used a muffin tray instead and double the ingredients, which produced 5 muffins/cupcakes. I also added some extra stuff to the sauce and made it thicker so it’s like a sticky date ganache. Raspberries go superbly well with the muffins and the ganache, the more the better. I hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

sticy_date_muffins_3

Ingredients

For the muffins

  • Butter to ghee to grease the muffin tray with
  • 10 tbsp water
  • 12 dates
  • 1 ½ ripe banana, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 ½ -3  tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract or essence or 1 fresh vanilla bean, seeds scraped out
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp honey (my addition but it will be sweet enough without)
  • ½ tsp baking powder

For the sticky date ganache

  • 5-6 dates, chopped
  • ½ of orange, juice only
  • 3 tbsp almond milk (coconut milk or water can also be used)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or essence
  • 1 tsp honey
  • Fresh raspberries or strawberries for garnish

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 185°C (365 °F).
  2. Grease muffin tins with the butter or ghee and set aside.
  3. Heat the dates and water in a small saucepan over low heat until the dates break down and thicken. Use a fork to mash them together and set aside.
  4. Place the coconut flour, egg, banana, vanilla extract and baking powder in a blender or food processor and mix well until well combined and aerated.
  5. Add the dates to the banana mixture and combine. Evenly distribute into the ramekins. Cook in the oven for about 20-22 minutes.
  6. While the muffins are in the oven, place the sticky date ganache ingredients in a small saucepan over a low heat and cook for about 3-4 minutes or until the dates break down. Mash with a fork and whisk until thickened. Set aside.
  7. Allow the muffins to rest for 5 minutes before removing them to a serving plate. Scoop a dollop of sticky date ganache paste on top and garnish with a few raspberries.

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 25 minutes

Number of servings: 5

sticky_date_pudding_muffins_1

———————————————————————————————————————————-

Check out my Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook –  a fantastic addition to any kitchen, filled with exclusive recipes, cooking tips and easy guide to paleo. Also just out, the new Rejuvenate program, which I co-authored with a medical nutritionist Claire Yates – it will teach you how to achieve radiance, wellness and longevity through food and holistic living. 

promo_image_inpost_dec13

Promo_bottom_of_post_570

Still can't find what you're looking for?

18 Comments

  1. Sara
    Posted July 7, 2014 at 12:30 am | Permalink

    looks very yummy! but i was wondering if there’s anything i can replace with the coconut flour since im not a big fan of the taste!

    • imacri
      Posted July 8, 2014 at 10:50 am | Permalink

      You don’t taste the coconut very much as banana is quite overpowering but if you want to replace it I would use double that amount in almond meal and maybe a little bit of starch like tapioca or arrowroot (maybe 2 tbsp).

  2. zalene
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    Hi
    Can you freeze these muffins?

    • imacri
      Posted June 3, 2014 at 9:41 pm | Permalink

      I haven’t tried so I don’t have a definite answer. I don’t see why not. Anyone tried?

  3. Jess
    Posted May 3, 2014 at 4:18 am | Permalink

    How does it yield a batch of muffins with only 3 Tablespoons of coconut flour?

    • imacri
      Posted May 3, 2014 at 12:16 pm | Permalink

      Hey Jess, coconut flour is extremely moisture hungry so it soaks up a lot of liquid and bulk of the mixture comes from the other ingredients. They are little muffins, not a big batch. You can double the ingredients to make a bigger batch. Irena

  4. Bob
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 3:09 am | Permalink

    185 C is 356 F..?

    • imacri
      Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:24 am | Permalink

      Sorry meant to be 365 not 356! Not a huge difference in F to make a difference to the baking though.

      • imacri
        Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:26 am | Permalink

        AH I see! That was a mistake. Sorry guys. I’ve changed it to 185/365 now.

  5. Rick
    Posted February 13, 2014 at 6:07 am | Permalink

    are the dates raw? or dehydrated?

    • imacri
      Posted February 14, 2014 at 4:23 am | Permalink

      Dried dates

13 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Or pick a category

  • My cookbook

    Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook Promo Image
  • Rejuvenate Program
  • My favourite resources

  • Herbs Spices Guide
  • Connect Daily

Facebook

Twitter

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Apple, Pecan & Bacon Butternut Squash Hash(Gaps/Paleo/Vegan options) - Enjoy this tasty hash full of fall flavors! I think I might want to add some eggs to this dish. #food #paleo #GAPS #grainfree #glutenfree #vegan #breakfast #brunch #hash #butternutsquash #apple #pecan #bacon

    Pinned: 20 Sep 2014
  • Paleo Broccoli Pancakes | Eat Drink Paleo

    Pinned: 17 Sep 2014
  • Raw Superfood Salad With Pineapple, Almonds + Turmeric Dressing

    Pinned: 12 Sep 2014
  • I love using chorizo to flavour dishes. Pork goes very nicely with prawns and squid and I like the vegetables used in this dish.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • Marie Rose dressing is a British condiment – mayo and ketchup mixed together To make it paleo friendly I suggest to make your own mayo using olive oil or find a commercial one using olive or worst case sunflower oil, basically avoid canola or soybean as much as possible. This recipe however, calls for yogurt instead. Just use normal full fat variety and instead of ketchup use some tomato paste.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • This is a bit of a prawn ceviche dish but you could easily grill the prawns after marinating if you’re not sure about eating them raw. Great fibre source salad.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • Everyone’s favourite meatballs with a difference – no meat! Fresh fish is used, which together with Sicilian herbs and spices creates a light and fresh dish.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • Make it Paleo: This recipe contains dairy such as butter and cream, both of which are high fat content and low lactose so perhaps you can get away with it. Otherwise you can probably use ghee and no cream, which will make it a bit thinner in consistency but the flavour of the mushrooms will still be amazing. Beef fillet and standard mushrooms can be used instead and you can add some dried porcini mushrooms for that wild forest flavour.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • You don’t really need to dust the meat with flour as you can thicken the sauce with a little tapioca flour or through evaporation method (aka cook with no lid on for the last hour). Peeled white potatoes are fine in small amounts but feel free to replace with sweet potato, swedes, parsnips or throw in zucchini and cauliflower in the last hour.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014
  • Use ghee instead of butter if avoiding all dairy (although butter is pretty much fat with hardly any lactose left). Higher-welfare just means free range.

    Pinned: 11 Sep 2014

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Healthy butter chicken with cauliflower rice - yes! Recipe by @indinature and can be found on our rejuvenatedforlife.com website #jerf #glutenfree #grainfree #realfood #food #cooking #paleo #recipes #rejuvenatedforlife #health #nutrition #wellness

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Healthy butter chicken with cauliflower rice - yes! Recipe by @indinature and can be found on our rejuvenatedforlife.com website #jerf #glutenfree #grainfree #realfood #food #cooking #paleo #recipes #rejuvenatedforlife #health #nutrition #wellness"
    75
    4
  • Awesome capture by @mattipuck of us climbing in Geyikbayiri From @toolmantim with @repostapp #turkey #climbing #movement #move #outdoors --- Irena, yesterday 💪

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Awesome capture by @mattipuck  of us climbing in Geyikbayiri 
From @toolmantim with @repostapp

#turkey #climbing #movement #move #outdoors --- Irena, yesterday 💪"
    73
    8
  • Local Turkish market was in full swing in the village. We've stocked up on seasonal veggies, local eggs, fruit and local lamb. Love eating unprocessed food. #paleo #food #slowfood #slowtravel #turkey #antalya #primal #jerf #realfood #nutrition #wellness #travel

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Local Turkish market was in full swing in the village. We've stocked up on seasonal veggies, local eggs, fruit and local lamb. Love eating unprocessed food. #paleo #food #slowfood #slowtravel #turkey #antalya #primal #jerf #realfood #nutrition #wellness #travel"
    105
    3
  • Even when I'm on holidays, I find a way to cook. I just miss it too much. We've been making our own breaky and lunches while staying in the climbing campsite in Turkey. For dinner, we've been eating whatever the local chef cooks for everyone and it's been delicious and inspiring. #turkey #food #travel #digitalnomad #antalya #cooking #eatdrinkpaleo

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Even when I'm on holidays, I find a way to cook. I just miss it too much. We've been making our own breaky and lunches while staying in the climbing campsite in Turkey. For dinner, we've been eating whatever the local chef cooks for everyone and it's been delicious and inspiring. #turkey #food #travel #digitalnomad #antalya #cooking #eatdrinkpaleo"
    129
    2
  • Just hanging ☝️ #turkey #climbing #movement #move #outdoors #antalya

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Just hanging ☝️ #turkey #climbing #movement #move #outdoors #antalya"
    83
    0
  • At Zeus's #olympos #turkey #rockclimbing #outdoors

    eatdrinkpaleo: "At Zeus's 
#olympos #turkey #rockclimbing #outdoors"
    81
    0
  • New achievement unlocked - ticked a few outdoor lead climbs in Turkey 😃😃😃 #turkey #climbing #movement #move #summer

    eatdrinkpaleo: "New achievement unlocked - ticked a few outdoor lead climbs in Turkey 😃😃😃 #turkey #climbing #movement #move #summer"
    96
    2
  • Our home for the next 10 days #antalya #rockclimbing #outdoors #move #movement #rock

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Our home for the next 10 days #antalya #rockclimbing #outdoors #move #movement #rock"
    171
    16
  • Amazing evening at Mikla Bar & Restaurant last night. Sunset drinks on one of the coolest rooftops and then a super tasty degustation with matching Turkish wines. A must if visiting Istanbul! Book ahead though. #mikla #istanbul #turkey

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Amazing evening at Mikla Bar & Restaurant last night. Sunset drinks on one of the coolest rooftops and then a super tasty degustation with matching Turkish wines. A must if visiting Istanbul! Book ahead though. #mikla #istanbul #turkey"
    127
    5
  • Istanbul - that is all ❤️ #istanbul #turkey

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Istanbul - that is all ❤️ #istanbul #turkey"
    125
    3