Paleo Sticky Date Pudding Cupcakes + my review of Optimum Health The Paleo Way

21 comments

buttermilk crepes recipe

Recipe: Sticky date pudding muffins

Hello my lovely readers. Today I have two awesome posts in one! First of all, you get a recipe of these delectable and paleo friendly sticky date pudding cupcakes/muffins with fresh raspberries. These were adapted (because I can’t just follow a recipe like all normal people) from a recipe for a mini sticky date pudding by Claire Yates of Indi Nature. I found the recipe in her new book Optimal Health The Paleo Way, which should be hitting the shelves of most major stores’ early November. This brings me to the second part of this post – my review of this new book. Now, I will preface this by saying that I don’t do many book reviews (mainly because nobody sends me any), so I was quite excited to receive Claire’s book in the mail and to test out some of the recipes before it goes on sale.

Before we jump into the pudding so to speak, here is what you need to know about the Optimal Health The Paleo Way book.

Optimum_health_the_paleo_way_cover

Being a paleo cookbook author and food blogger, I read a lot of literature on the subject matter. So every time I pick up a new book on the topic I wonder what new things I will learn and will I learn anything at all. Oh boy, did I learn stuff!

Claire Yates is a nutritional medicine practitioner so she really understands all the nerdy stuff about what we eat and how it affects our bodies. All of that is really well covered and you will learn a lot about fat, protein, carbs and nutritional benefits of different foods. However, I wouldn’t just call this a diet book. It’s more like a manual to healthier living. I love that things like hormones, stress, gut health, inflammation and sleep are covered, in fact they all have their own chapters in the book. There is a great chapter on food as medicine teaching you about the healing and restorative ingredients and how they work and a full chapter on how mind, body and soul are connected. Claire has a beautiful, holistic life philosophy and it really comes through in this book.

claire_yates_book_review

Now that was just one half of the book. The other half is dedicated to an easy to follow 28 day reset program including lots of practical information on how to get started, the daily rituals, supplements and how to continue your lifestyle after the program is finished. Like any reset program, it might seem restrictive but once you read through all the meals and recipes you will actually want to try it. Everything looks very delicious and satiating, and I honestly don’t think you’ll be missing other foods.

The last part of the book contains over 100 delicious paleo recipes and to be honest I think Claire doesn’t give herself enough credit when it comes to cooking. Everything looks healthy but also very tasty and easy to make. I am definitely trying chocolate cherry bites, cold prawn and kelp noodle salad, blueberry ice-cream, nori egg and chicken rolls and butter chicken. There are also salad dressings, sauces, bone broth, salad, breakfasts, main meals and much more. And of course, I absolute loved the sticky date pudding muffins.

If you’re going to buy a book on paleo, or nutrition in general, make sure it’s this one! Whether you’re new to the concepts or you consider yourself an expert, it has something for everyone. The best part is you can tell it’s written by someone who obviously loves food so it’s become one of my favourite paleo cooking books.  You can pre-order Optimum Health The Paleo Way here (actually if you order from them any time before end of November, you can go in the draw to win a 1 hour free consultation with Claire over Skype), otherwise look out for it in Australian stores early November. I believe you can find it in some stores already. Also, check out Claire’s website and Facebook for more updates on where to get it.

And now back to the sticky date muffins! The original recipe makes these in ramekins in a microwave so it’s a quick dessert you can make in 10 minutes or so. I didn’t have any ramekins in the current kitchen so I used a muffin tray instead and double the ingredients, which produced 5 muffins/cupcakes. I also added some extra stuff to the sauce and made it thicker so it’s like a sticky date ganache. Raspberries go superbly well with the muffins and the ganache, the more the better. I hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

sticy_date_muffins_3

Ingredients

For the muffins

  • Butter to ghee to grease the muffin tray with
  • 10 tbsp water
  • 12 dates
  • 1 ½ ripe banana, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 ½ -3  tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract or essence or 1 fresh vanilla bean, seeds scraped out
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp honey (my addition but it will be sweet enough without)
  • ½ tsp baking powder

For the sticky date ganache

  • 5-6 dates, chopped
  • ½ of orange, juice only
  • 3 tbsp almond milk (coconut milk or water can also be used)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or essence
  • 1 tsp honey
  • Fresh raspberries or strawberries for garnish

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 185°C (365 °F).
  2. Grease muffin tins with the butter or ghee and set aside.
  3. Heat the dates and water in a small saucepan over low heat until the dates break down and thicken. Use a fork to mash them together and set aside.
  4. Place the coconut flour, egg, banana, vanilla extract and baking powder in a blender or food processor and mix well until well combined and aerated.
  5. Add the dates to the banana mixture and combine. Evenly distribute into the ramekins. Cook in the oven for about 20-22 minutes.
  6. While the muffins are in the oven, place the sticky date ganache ingredients in a small saucepan over a low heat and cook for about 3-4 minutes or until the dates break down. Mash with a fork and whisk until thickened. Set aside.
  7. Allow the muffins to rest for 5 minutes before removing them to a serving plate. Scoop a dollop of sticky date ganache paste on top and garnish with a few raspberries.

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 25 minutes

Number of servings: 5

sticky_date_pudding_muffins_1

———————————————————————————————————————————-

Check out my Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook -  a fantastic addition to any kitchen, filled with exclusive recipes, cooking tips and easy guide to paleo. Also just out, the new Rejuvenate program, which I co-authored with a medical nutritionist Claire Yates – it will teach you how to achieve radiance, wellness and longevity through food and holistic living. 

promo_image_inpost_dec13

Promo_bottom_of_post_570

Still can't find what you're looking for?

12 Comments

  1. Bob
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 3:09 am | Permalink

    185 C is 356 F..?

    • imacri
      Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:24 am | Permalink

      Sorry meant to be 365 not 356! Not a huge difference in F to make a difference to the baking though.

      • imacri
        Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:26 am | Permalink

        AH I see! That was a mistake. Sorry guys. I’ve changed it to 185/365 now.

  2. Rick
    Posted February 13, 2014 at 6:07 am | Permalink

    are the dates raw? or dehydrated?

    • imacri
      Posted February 14, 2014 at 4:23 am | Permalink

      Dried dates

9 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Or pick a category

  • Rejuvenate in 2014

    Rejuvenate Program
  • My cookbook

    Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook Promo Image
  • Is It Paleo?

  • Herbs Spices Guide
  • Got Yours?

  • Connect Daily

Facebook

Twitter

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Macadamia crusted fish fingers with tarragon red cabbage coleslaw - just in time for Easter

    Pinned: 16 Apr 2014
  • No bake, no fuss and make ahead caramel chocolate fudge paleo slice recipe | Eat Drink Paleo

    Pinned: 14 Apr 2014
  • Cauliflower & beetroot couscous salad with toasted hazelnuts | Eat Drink Paleo

    Pinned: 9 Apr 2014
  • Cauliflower and beetroot couscous salad with toasted hazelnuts via eatdrinkpaleo.com.au

    Pinned: 9 Apr 2014
  • Healthy version of this delicious Easter dessert. Must try Easter Pashka with ricotta & raspberries via rejuvenatedforlife.com

    Pinned: 9 Apr 2014
  • Paleo treats: Choc-Hazelnut Salted Caramel Tart Recipe | Eat Drink Paleo

    Pinned: 7 Apr 2014
  • Drop-dead gorgeous chocolate hazelnut & salted caramel tart. Get the recipe with more pic and instructions here. #paleo #dairyfree #glutenfree

    Pinned: 7 Apr 2014
  • Grapefruit, Ginger & Lemongrass Sake Cocktails

    Pinned: 6 Apr 2014
  • Modern Coronation Chicken Salad via rejuvenatedforlife.com

    Pinned: 30 Mar 2014
  • 20 minute paleo meals: BLT salad with prawns and avocado

    Pinned: 30 Mar 2014

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Somebody made a slow cooked chicken broth because somebody caught the flu! Ok body, show me how well you can fight. Happy Easter to me. Yay! 😷🍗🍵 #foodasmedicine #bonebroth #healing #flu #paleo #primal #nutrition #westonaprice #food

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Somebody made a slow cooked chicken broth because somebody caught the flu! Ok body, show me how well you can fight. Happy Easter to me. Yay! 😷🍗🍵 #foodasmedicine #bonebroth #healing #flu #paleo #primal #nutrition #westonaprice #food"
    26
    4
  • Are you ready for the long weekend and all the treats? This is my no bake and no fuss date, cashew & raw cacao slice. Recipe on #eatdrinkpaleo website. Wishing you all a fun and happy break.xo #paleo #dessert #paleouk #paleoaustralia #primal #jerf #glutenfree #cleaneating #fitfam #fitness #grainfree #cooking #food #yum

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Are you ready for the long weekend and all the treats? This is my no bake and no fuss date, cashew & raw cacao slice. Recipe on #eatdrinkpaleo website. Wishing you all a fun and happy break.xo 
#paleo #dessert #paleouk #paleoaustralia #primal #jerf #glutenfree #cleaneating #fitfam #fitness #grainfree #cooking #food #yum"
    118
    3
  • Mmmm...the smell of a freshly printed book. Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook is back in stock kids!!! Thank you to my talented designer @carlahackett for making it even more awesome for the second edition. Few extra recipes in there as well ;-) Big thanks to everyone who's bought and enjoyed it so far. I love every recipe pic that you tag me in or is hash tagged with #eatdrinkpaleo. For a self-published author, your support means everything. The fact that we sold out of the last print run so quickly made me reassured me that I made the right career move. Get 'em from my website, Amazon.com and soon on Amazon.co.uk. And of course a few shops and cafes in Australia, check out my resources page for stockists. #paleo #eatdrinkpaleo #food #cooking #foodie #primal #jerf #paleouk #paleoaustralia #paleocook #cookbook

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Mmmm...the smell of a freshly printed book. Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook is back in stock kids!!! Thank you to my talented designer @carlahackett for making it even more awesome for the second edition. Few extra recipes in there as well ;-) Big thanks to everyone who's bought and enjoyed it so far. I love every recipe pic that you tag me in or is hash tagged with #eatdrinkpaleo. For a self-published author, your support means everything. The fact that we sold out of the last print run so quickly made me reassured me that I made the right career move. 
Get 'em from my website, Amazon.com and soon on Amazon.co.uk. And of course a few shops and cafes in Australia, check out my resources page for stockists.  #paleo #eatdrinkpaleo #food #cooking #foodie #primal #jerf #paleouk #paleoaustralia #paleocook #cookbook"
    237
    18
  • Yummy paleo pop-up dinner Be At Buckley's by @tasha__be last night. I had sea bass ceviche, pork belly with the most lush caraway bone marrow sauce and coconut panda cotta, washed down with natural wine. Plus the best company of @paleopolly and friends. Next Be At Buckley's dinner is on next Tuesday 22nd. Check out @tasha__be IG for more details. Good vibes as well! #paleouk #primal #nourishingtraditions #ancestralfood #glutenfree #foodlondon #food #paleolondon #primalbritain #primaluk #BEatBuckleys

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Yummy paleo pop-up dinner Be At Buckley's by @tasha__be last night. I had sea bass ceviche, pork belly with the most lush caraway bone marrow sauce and coconut panda cotta, washed down with natural wine. Plus the best company of @paleopolly and friends. Next Be At Buckley's dinner is on next Tuesday 22nd. Check out @tasha__be IG for more details. Good vibes as well! #paleouk #primal #nourishingtraditions #ancestralfood #glutenfree #foodlondon #food #paleolondon #primalbritain #primaluk #BEatBuckleys"
    75
    8
  • Met up with the lovely Suzie from @primalkitchenuk at the trade show yesterday & for dessert I got to try all of the flavours of her nut & fruit bars. The packaging and flavours are as fun as the creator herself! Thanks @sarahcatford for taking the pic :-) #paleo #primal #primalbritain #paleouk #paleolondon #wellness #food #jerf #paleosnacks #glutenfree #grainfree #dairyfree #cleaneating

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Met up with the lovely Suzie from @primalkitchenuk at the trade show yesterday & for dessert I got to try all of the flavours of her nut & fruit bars. The packaging and flavours are as fun as the creator herself! Thanks @sarahcatford for taking the pic :-) #paleo #primal #primalbritain #paleouk #paleolondon #wellness #food #jerf #paleosnacks #glutenfree #grainfree #dairyfree #cleaneating"
    60
    1
  • Here is what happens when you let me into a Natural & Organic trade show... I guess someone has to trial all these healthy goodies and products. #crazybaglady #wellness #organic #naturalliving #testing #uk #london

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Here is what happens when you let me into a Natural & Organic trade show... I guess someone has to trial all these healthy goodies and products. #crazybaglady #wellness #organic #naturalliving #testing #uk #london"
    117
    5
  • Let's get cooking! #happiness #inspo #inspiration #life #recipes

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Let's get cooking! #happiness #inspo #inspiration #life #recipes"
    120
    7
  • Latest on EDP website is my beetroot cauliflower couscous salad with hazelnuts. Fresh, vibrant and so good for you. Pro tip - great with lamb!😉 #recipes #beetroot #food #SLR #canon #foodporn #paleo #primal #jerf #glutenfree #salad #health #wellness #longevity #cooking

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Latest on EDP website is my beetroot cauliflower couscous salad with hazelnuts. Fresh, vibrant and so good for you. Pro tip - great with lamb!😉 #recipes #beetroot #food #SLR #canon #foodporn #paleo #primal #jerf #glutenfree #salad #health #wellness #longevity #cooking"
    91
    5
  • Secret London #uk #dayoff #spring #selfemployment #travel #digitalnomad #london

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Secret London #uk #dayoff #spring #selfemployment #travel #digitalnomad #london"
    94
    0
  • Morning routine - aeropress, beans, grinder, kettle. Coffee is served😁 #coffee #filter #singleorigin #morningphoto

    eatdrinkpaleo: "Morning routine - aeropress, beans, grinder, kettle. Coffee is served😁 #coffee #filter #singleorigin #morningphoto"
    79
    5